Operated by Escape Artist DC, LLC.

720 I Street SE, Washington, DC 20003

(202) 999-0087

Note that we are located on I (Eye) Street SouthEast DC

Business hours

Tuesday - Friday: 4 pm - 11 pm

Saturday: 12 pm - 11 pm

Sunday: 12 pm - 10 pm

Private events are welcome outside of normal business hours. Please note that online booking is preferred. If you plan to walk in please call us one hour in advance to check availability.

REVIEWS

Night at the Museum Review

Escape Room Adventurer

Escape Artist DC is different from other rooms that I’ve done, and not just from those in the DC area. The puzzles provided tend to be a bit more cerebral in nature and require a different method of thinking than your usual escape room. Puzzles are a good mix of technical interactions and basic locks, and most are impressively hand crafted.

House of Pawns Episodes 2 & 3 Review

Escape Room Adventurer

"Both experiences were adept at delivering an evolving story through puzzling and props. Not only did we need to escape the room, but we needed to put each piece together to further the narrative itself, which is much more engaging than your usual solution to lock situation."

Where’s Ben Stiller When You Need Him? – Night at the Museum

The Escape Room Guys

 Yup, I had a good time in this room. Some adrenaline surges when we solved certain things, and the ability to work on a number of the puzzles at different points. We could even solve some of a puzzle and leave the rest to others, which was a great way of making you work with your team.

I’m Better with Paint-by-Numbers – Gallery Heist

The Escape Room Guys

"One of the things I particularly enjoyed about this room was the rather minimalist approach to the puzzles at the start. There was, if I recall, only one padlock in there. And you know how much we like a lack of padlocks."

"I loved that there were puzzles that used logic, others that were more actual puzzle-like, others that required linking things together, and maybe some riddle-esque things to figure out as well."

How to REALLY Cover Your Tracks after Rigging an Election –  House of Pawns 4

The Escape Room Guys

 "One of the greatest things about the House of Pawns series at Escape Artist DC is the way the room and it’s puzzles/story all combine to make an experience. Nothing can be solved on it’s own after the first one or two puzzles. Everything follows plot lines and progresses the story of the room. While there are multiple objectives, and multiple paths, everything converges the way an escape room should for the final payoff in the end."

We’re Just Pawns in a Much Larger Game… – Room: House of Pawns, Episode 2

The Escape Room Guys

 "I can honestly say that this was one of the more complex rooms when it came to solving the puzzles. This room is built on subtle clues and hiding things in plain sight.

 

There were only three of us in the room, and this is one of the few times where I’d actually advocate having almost double that number in the room because there were some puzzles that needed more than one person to work on them to be able to solve them or needed that fresh look that suddenly snapped the missing piece into place."

Below is collected feedback (both positive and negative) from our anonymous customers who don't have an account on Yelp or TripAdvisor. We use this feedback to discover our strengths, as well as what we need to improve on.

05/2018 - The escape room was incredibly fun and engaging. Would love to do another one!

05/2018 - We had a group of kids there for a birthday party. One of the birthday boys said the clues were smart and well thought out. He loved it, thank you!

04/2018 - I felt the room was too easy for anyone who had done an escape room before. I appreciate that the intent was to avoid having to get hints from the app, but the hints that were built into the room did not feel like part of the story/set and took me out of the experience. For instance, the first hint on how to use the mirrored tube was the text under one of the gallery paintings, but it was one of the only paintings with that text and it read like a game hint and not like gallery text, so it did not blend into the story. Similarly with the instruction to open the top drawer of the file cabinet too - that was clearly a hint and not something that might naturally occur. There were other examples and taken together they eroded the immersive experience. The puzzles were fun and interesting, but that part could be improved.

Management Response: Thanks for your feed back. We already have addressed a couple of the issues mentioned. In terms of difficulty level, the success rate is only 25% with hints for the Gallery Heist. We design games that are doable by most people in given time. It's more challenging to design a game that "makes sense" which is devoid of obscure leaps of logic.

So nice to chat with the artist/creator of this room!

We had a great time doing the escape room and celebrating my birthday. Everyone had a lot of fun. The room was challenging but enjoyable. I would definitely come back!

Great Experience! A non-linear progression of clues made it the experience even better. Definitely the best escape room in the DC area.

Please increase the number of rooms or change the scenarios for people who have completed the game before. I will definitely come back for a new challenge. Keep me updated when you have something new.
Great game

Started a little late today, but overall great experience!

We had a wonderful time!!! We went to dinner afterwards & all of us were still talking about the fun time we had!! Thanks so much!! We will be back!!

Milan was so great as he went through the entire puzzle after we escaped. We had a lot of fun and hope to try other rooms soon.

Great service and room!

This was a celebration for my daughter's 13th birthday. She had a great time with her friends solving Night at the Museum. They were thrilled to solve the mystery just in the "nick of time" and they can't wait to go again. One of the girls had been to a different escape room before (in GT) and she declared that this was so much better!!!! The girls couldn't stop thanking me for bringing them to Escape Artist DC for the party! :-)

Fun, unique, & challenging escape room!

We definitely enjoyed ourselves. The clues and technology were very ingenious! It was MUCH harder though than we expected and I think some people got discouraged during the game. Plus the lack of AC made it almost unbearable near the end.
We all came out laughing though and were glad for the experience so, I guess all is well. :)



1. The Gallery Heist story made sense except for one small detail. The time constraint had no connection to the story. My suggestion is to build it into the story in the way you do with Night at the Museum. I think it's one of my biggest problems with escape rooms when there is absolutely no reason you have 45 or 60 minutes to get out.

2. I would redo the * clue. It was slightly less logical than the others.

3. This is a general request for escape rooms. Not only would I like to see a connection of the time constraint to the story, I would love to see a connection between ALL the clues to the story. For instance, why is there a sequence of clues contained in different locked rooms. For some reason that just doesn't make sense to me. Why are their paintings with clues of how to read shapes that are connected to a price list which is connected to a phrase which is connected to opening up a compartment. That just doesn't make any sense. I would love it if it all made story-based sense.

it would be nice to have the iPad to give clues when the game players wanted it. E.g., press a button and a clue appears. Having the clues on a timer, creates anxiety in players - thinking they should have already passed a phase or not. 

only have one way to get to the end (e.g., not have two ways to figure out the same puzzle). OR if there are two or three ways to get to the end, then it would be nice that the players know so then the players don't think they need to use all of the items or clues given.

The staff were really great! We came with a larger group, and they suggested a different room that might be better for us, and even offered to let us split into two groups to do two different rooms. I think we got hints more quickly than several of us would have preferred, but I think this is a somewhat common complaint about other room escapes that we've done as well, and it's definitely been more egregious in other places. One of our participants was also running late, and we were able to delay our start a bit to wait for him to arrive, which I definitely appreciate and don't take for granted at a place like this.

Although we did not escape, we had a great time trying!!!

Really enjoyed it. Very clever and challenging, will definitely recommend it to my friends.

The challenges in our "adventure" were both entertaining and reasonable, and the feeling of success was shared by every member of our team. The result was a group experience that was thrilling and unforgettable!
Can't wait to try another problem!!

We had a great time. And we escaped!!

Our only complaint was the lighting....it was very dim and hard to read things without the use of our cell phone flashlights.

We had a great time. I appreciated the difficulty of the different puzzles and they worked together very well. They were very interesting and I learned a lot. I wish we had known that it would be so difficult ahead of time for only two people to escape. However, we still had a great time. I can't wait to try one of the other rooms.

The gallery heist was very fun and entertaining! Racing against the clock and piecing together clues made this experience worth it!

Not particularly fond of the 'political' theme for this specific room.

We've done different escape rooms around the city and this location is our favorite! We really like how its puzzle focused.
Thank you!

The dry erase marker in the Gallery Heist was broken. The blacklight flashlight being almost dead was annoying too. Other than those two small issues, I thought it was a well put together escape room.

Our group made very good progress in first few minutes, then stalled. Based on comments from person "monitoring" our room when we finished (gee, we thought you'd be done in 20 minutes), it appears that once they made that decision, they stopped monitoring, and gave no hint to nudge us when we ran into the roadblock that kept us idle for the last 40 min of our time. With one simple hint (directing us to examine one item we'd ignored - the extension cord) given 10 min before the time ended, we would likely have solved it. Overall, it was a great experience, but we felt a little frustrated at the lack of support.

We've done different escape rooms around the city and this location is our favorite! We really like how its puzzle focused.
Thank you!

10/31/2016

 

 

Thank you - we had so much fun!! I loved how things built on each other and you often had to put together multiple elements from different places to crack the code. Also really enjoyed getting to solve the mystery along the way. One thing that we didn't fully understand going in, which might have made it more fun, was that when we escaped we should be able to "defend" our accusation of the suspect with several pieces of evidence. We had gathered that evidence, but it would have been neat to have to present it as part of the experience to prove our case. I really liked the debrief with the designer at the end which explained a few pieces we had missed (like using the ***), and gave us a chance to process what had happened. I appreciated that the hints we were given were just small nudges in the right direction, and clearly made with a specific awareness of what we were missing versus what we would probably be able to figure out on our own - I would have been disappointed to receive more leading clues and miss out on the chance to crack the secrets ourselves. It might be nice to offer participants the option of whether they want to see the hint - maybe a notification that a hint is available which you can then choose whether to view or not? Anyway, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be back!

5/22/2016

 

 

Our group made very good progress in first few minutes, then stalled. Based on comments from person "monitoring" our room when we finished (gee, we thought you'd be done in 20 minutes), it appears that once they made that decision, they stopped monitoring, and gave no hint to nudge us when we ran into the roadblock that kept us idle for the last 40 min of our time. With one simple hint (directing us to examine one item we'd ignored - the ***) given 10 min before the time ended, we would likely have solved it. Overall, it was a great experience, but we felt a little frustrated at the lack of support.

10/18/2016

 

 

We had a BLAST!! Thanks for such a fun evening! We DEFINITELY will be back! What a fun an interesting addition to the Capitol Hill Community!

12/31/2016

 

 

A bit too many hints - but I like the idea of the camera in the corner watching, so maybe only give a hint if participants look up at the camera and ask for one? But we really had an amazing time and cannot wait to come back!

10/9/2016

Wonderful staff and a really fun room. Thanks for a great time!

We love you all, thanks for making it a great day.

Love it - I was concerned that it wouldn't be challenging, but it turned out to be very challenging! I think 60 minutes would have been better than 45 minutes - there are a lot of clues to figure out in only 45 minutes. Something was also up with the air conditioning and the room was really hot as well. Otherwise, it was a lot of fun and the people were great.

 

I loved the concept for the escape room and the ***** art. The iPad with hints was very helpful and made it easy to keep track of all the hints . In another company's escape room a walkie talkie was used to relay hints abd it was difficult to remember all the hints . We also appreciated the dry erase board to write notes and discoveries. The debriefing and clue explanations were great. The facility is also well kept, clean, and very cute ( especially the video viewing room/lounge).

7/16/2016

 

 

 

Our experience yesterday exceeded our expectations! It was perfect for our summer associate event and we will definitely be back as this is a wonderful team building experience! Thanks for everything!

7/28/2016

 

 

We loved it! My only suggestion is to add to your website which rooms are at which difficulty. When I'm bringing new people, I like to start a little easier. When I'm with folks who have done an escape room before, I'll go a little more difficult. I couldn't find this info on the website. Thanks!

8/11/2016

 

Fun, professional and they really love what they do!

9/19/2016

 

 

Wonderful staff and a really fun room. Thanks for a great time!

9/10/2016

 

 

We love you all, thanks for making it a great day.

9/10/2016

 

 

Love it - I was concerned that it wouldn't be challenging, but it turned out to be very challenging! I think 60 minutes would have been better than 45 minutes - there are a lot of clues to figure out in only 45 minutes. Something was also up with the air conditioning and the room was really hot as well. Otherwise, it was a lot of fun and the people were great.

9/10/2016

 

 

It was great! Alaina (sp) was amazing!!!! She was really accommodating and sweet

8/14/2016

 

 

We loved it! My only suggestion is to add to your website which rooms are at which difficulty. When I'm bringing new people, I like to start a little easier. When I'm with folks who have done an escape room before, I'll go a little more difficult. I couldn't find this info on the website. Thanks!

8/11/2016

 

 

We had a wonderful experience, and everybody was amazed by the customization. I left a glowing review on Yelp and will be HIGHLY recommending you whenever possible. Outstanding experience and service. Thank you!

3/7/2016 5:03 PM

 

 

note on back of door to go online for hints, but couldnt access it. not much direction given in the beginning so if we hadnt done an escape room before we probably wouldve been lost. hard to hear the person who gave us hints. but this room was challenging and made us really think.

3/7/2016 12:24 AM

 

 

You Guys Are The Best , I Really Enjoyed Myself !

2/29/2016 12:54 AM

 

 

great experience

2/27/2016 11:52 PM

 

 

Offer a package to do multiple rooms in one night at a discount.

2/22/2016 9:22 AM

Love it - I was concerned that it wouldn't be challenging, but it turned out to be very challenging! I think 60 minutes would have been better than 45 minutes - there are a lot of clues to figure out in only 45 minutes. Something was also up with the air conditioning and the room was really hot as well. Otherwise, it was a lot of fun and the people were great.

 

Loved it, and the staff was perfect, knocking to offer clues just when we needed and giving us helpful but not too much info. Only suggestion is to hyper link the phone number on yr website and put much more info on how to reach the Capitol Hill location, since it's riddled with construction, maybe a photo of the storefront, since it isn't flashy, and flag up over the phone that it might be difficult to find so please check the map before going. Also note to leave extra time as parking can be a challenge --all 6 of our friends texted panicked about parking. Other than that, it

2/20/2016 7:33 AM

 

 

This was our first escape room experience. We were a group of 2 and the others paired with us did not arrive on time so they were "thrown" in the room late. They didn't know what was going on so we had to catch them up on things. I felt like there could've been more explanation as far as what to do and what to look for in the room. We had no idea where to even begin because the intro was rushed. I would suggest maybe changing how scheduling works with groups that arrive late? I'd also suggest forewarning small groups that the experience is totally different when done with strangers, but a larger group is necessary to complete the game in time. It was fun- just thought I'd point out some holes that could be improved upon :)

2/16/2016 11:18 PM

 

 

The whole thing was wonderful! We loved doing the room and it was all successful.

2/14/2016 4:11 PM

 

 

This is not a critique, but if you're looking to clean your laminate, use nail polish :-)

2/13/2016 12:10 PM

 

 

We had a great time. The artwork was great and the challenge of the room was at just the right level.

2/10/2016 6:58 PM

 

 

 little unorganized the room was extremely hot also. Bathroom could also use some cleaning.

1/16/2016 11:20 PM

 

 

We had a great time last night! Thank you for taking the time to personally meet with, and help, us! ~Liz Strom (Organizer of Rolando's 40th Birthday Escape)

1/6/2016 12:04 PM

 

 

It wasn't as organized as it could be. Should be a system to ask for clues thought (walkie talkie)

1/3/2016 5:05 PM

 

 

Please offer customers incentives to come back and try other rooms

12/23/2015 10:57 PM

 

 

It was hard, but we really enjoyed ourselves and will be planning a return visit.

12/9/2015 10:11 AM

 

 

We loved it! Super enjoyable. I can't wait to come with friends and fam

12/5/2015 7:40 PM

 

 

Great experience!

11/27/2015 10:18 PM

 

 

The room was great. Our group is a little slower and we could have used some additional hints. We used the two on the website which weren't quite enough to get us through, but it was a lot of fun overall. Thank you!

11/21/2015 5:31 PM

 

 

Lots of fun!!!

11/9/2015 8:41 AM

 

 

This place was amazing!!!! Literally if you have a brief case, slide, do not push!!

11/9/2015 4:00 AM

 

 

We have been to other escape rooms that left us wanting to come back and beat the challenge, however we did not leave this place feeling that way.  We lost a good 10 minutes when I felt we should have been fed a clue after 5 minutes. The waiting area was small and did not excite us about the game. There was no reward for winning. In other games, we could buy a Tshirt showing that we escaped--but only if we escaped could we buy it. This was an incentive for us; it was a well designedt-shirt and reasonbly priced. I would advise checking out the websites of other Escape games.

10/21/2015 12:14 PM

 

 

This was a great change even with just 2 people! Made me realize I need to react quicker and not take so long to think!????

10/20/2015 10:18 AM

 

 

The dry erase marker in the Gallery Heist was broken. The blacklight flashlight being almost dead was annoying too. Other than those two small issues, I thought it was a well put together escape room.

11/11/2016

 

 

I'd say be a bit less willing to give clues/hints. We definitely needed the first one, but we were on track to finish the rest.

10/18/2015 10:51 PM

 

 

Our group made it out very quickly; perhaps a difficulty rating would allow us to choose a more challenging room next time? Either way, we and fun and will be back!

10/12/2015 12:44 AM

 

 

It was a little hot in there - but maybe that's part of the locked-in-a-room vibe? Otherwise, so much fun and really clever puzzles/clues!

10/11/2015 11:15 PM

 

 

Great experience and very friendly staff.

10/11/2015 12:09 AM

 

 

Maybe ask if the group needs help before offering hints, but overall it was super fun.

10/5/2015 9:17 PM

 

 

It was great fun! We would definitely do it again!!

9/27/2015 1:41 PM

 

 

The "game master" needs to be properly trained so that she provides all necessary information and tools. (Though I understand she was new)

9/21/2015 2:09 PM

 

 

Room was set up incorrectly and assistant was unfamiliar with room for help. The idea was great but the execution was lacking. Probably won't return.

9/20/2015 9:43 AM

 

 

I know its probably not worth reducing profits from the rooms per hour but i would really enjoy to do this as a smaller group. I found that i felt like i was missing out on participating on some of the best parts because there were already 5 people trying to figure ot out together. I may be inclined to go to a competitor that offered rooms with 5 or 6 people max. Maybe... But i really need to know what happens in chapter 3.

9/13/2015 6:37 PM

 

 

Had a great time,,!

9/5/2015 10:50 PM

 

 

Great fun! Seemed just challenging enough and would like to do the other room. Hope you will add some new ones too. Price was reasonable.

9/3/2015 9:06 PM

 

 

Brilliant, super fun for our family this past weekend. Might benefit from suggesting groups of 6-8 as I think 10 was too many in our experience. Love how dedicated and into this your team is - the thoughtfulness and entrepreneurial spirit really shows! We had a blast. Thanks again!

8/24/2015 10:34 AM

 

 

We had a great time. As a first experience in an escape room, we did several things wrong, but that was all part of the experience. It felt so rewarding when we accomplished each challenge, especially when we solved the puzzles as a team. We went as a family (my kids, husband, my brother and myself) and having this experience working together was really special.

8/10/2015 10:22 AM

 

 

Enjoyed our time. We'll be back the next time we're in DC.

8/2/2015 4:14 PM

 

 

I came for the July 19 Sunday 4pm session. The girl who worked was SOOOO kind and chill/calm especially when 2 people in my party were running late. We loved her a lot. The escape room was SO much fun, we couldn't stop talking about it over dinner afterwards. Thank you for an amazing time!

7/20/2015 10:30 AM

 

 

It was a lot of fun but the 2nd room was WAY too small for the amount of people we had in the group (8). It was hard being paired with the other group b/c they didn't work as a team with us. I felt like we could've gotten it complete a lot faster if our group was on our own. Frustrating working with the others.

7/17/2015 12:25 PM

 

 

This experience was great. My party had a wonderful time, the only issue was that we had to share the room. We would have preferred to have a private experience, because we had a smaller party.

7/16/2015 9:57 PM

 

 

The young lady that helped our group in the Escape room experience was polite, kind and helpful! She helped us JUST the right amount and at the right time. We have already told family and friends to come do this as a fun family team building event. Highly recommended:)

7/15/2015 3:36 PM

 

 

I absolutely loved it but a larger space would be great. We had eight people and it was a little tight in the second room.

7/12/2015 7:51 PM

 

 

Booking a reservation was so easy. We had to change our date and number attending and it was easy to do. Since life happens, it is nice to have a generous cancellation policy. A totally great visit and experience.

7/12/2015 8:15 AM

 

 

We had a great time. And we escaped!!

12/28/2016

 

 

Our only complaint was the lighting....it was very dim and hard to read things without the use of our cell phone flashlights.

12/21/2016

 

 

We had a great time. I appreciated the difficulty of the different puzzles and they worked together very well. They were very interesting and I learned a lot. I wish we had known that it would be so difficult ahead of time for only two people to escape. However, we still had a great time. I can't wait to try one of the other rooms.

12/19/2016

 

 

The gallery heist was very fun and entertaining! Racing against the clock and piecing together clues made this experience worth it!

11/13/2016

 

 

The dry erase marker in the Gallery Heist was broken. The black light flashlight being almost dead was annoying too. Other than those two small issues, I thought it was a well put together escape room.

11/11/2016

 

 

Not particularly fond of the 'political' theme for this specific room.

11/11/2016

 

 

The clues were well placed and very clever. We had a great time and we're able to escape. The room should be touched up with new paint, as it was beginning to look pretty worn. Finally, the sticky notes on most of the surfaces looked kind of tacky. Please consider finding another way to give instructions instead of these handwritten notes.

5/14/2016

 

 

Unless you've done this before, the puzzles and riddles were too challenging.

3/13/2016

 

 

This was the first time any of us have ever done an escape room, so I we weren't sure what to expect. I'm not sure we ever would have put together the verbal clue had we not been given help. Hopefully next time we are able to think more broadly.

3/20/2016

 

 

We came for my daughter s 10th birthday and the kids had so much fun, We loved the personalized clues!
I would recommend to my friends

3/20/2016

 

 

i think it might be helpful to know the order of which things you need to unlock...

3/20/2016

 

 

The intro felt a little rushed. I think you could build up the plot of the story a little more so that we 1.) are more involved in the plot as an audience and 2.) have a little more background about what we are trying to solve. I think this would be the next step for Escape Artists DC in making this event a premier experience.

3/20/2016

The actual event was great. The puzzles were challenging, but solvable, and everything was very well thought out. The only thing that could add to the experience would again be anything to get us more involved in the plot as an audience. Anything that would take us from "solving puzzles" to "solving the mystery".

3/21/2016

 

 

Staff was excellent, great location and great sequence of clues, but everything felt and looked very low budget. Clues had writing on them, the intro video was homemade, even the photo booth was poor quality. Need to spend some money and up the quality here. I would tell my friends to try another escape room as is.

4/2/2016

 

 

The clues were a little difficult to decipher.

4/10/2016

 

 

It was very enjoyable. Our clues came late. But we figured out most stuff without the clues in room. We'll be back.

4/10/2016

 

 

We had a great time but there was actually a small mistake with our room where one of the locks was already open and unlocked when we got in the room. Just a small thing, but a slightly noticeable mistake. Overall we had fun and I think it would be a great bonding activity with coworkers!

4/11/2016

 

We went for our 5th grade daughter's birthday. It was our daughter, 7 of her friends, and her parents. We did the Night at the Museum room. It was great!! The girls all loved it. The room, story, and clues were really well done. The hosts were very gracious and accommodating. They are very personally invested in making it a fun and enjoyable experience, and they take great pride in what they've put together (as they should)! We highly recommend it!

4/12/2016

 

Rooms a bit small. Wish they were bigger. but i loved it. Very challenging

4/23/2016

 

Very cool event. I thought the ipad clues were clever way to help us advance our search. 

4/23/2016

we were a group of two and our host explained that you have much more success with a larger group. Maybe you could emphasize that in the signup as I would have called some friends to join us. 

4/28/2016

I think the only thing that was lacking was a strong storyline to explain why we are tying to find clues to the missing painting and who was the thief was and why we needed a key to get out of the room we entered. At some point I kinda forgot what we are actually looking for. 

4/28/2016

Here is a suggestion for a storyline: Eccentric Gallery owner dies. Police rule it a suicide but a family member suspects foul play since gallery owner stated he was about to unveil the thief who recently stole one of his paintings. Family owner hires you against police wishes. Find the name of the missing painting and the name of the thief and we got our murder suspect. Oh and the gallery owner was paranoid so hide all his notes about the thief and his alarm system in cryptic clues. You have 45 minutes to get all this info and dismantal the backup alarm system which locked you in and called the police. 

4/28/2016

With a more engaging story line and more people with me, I would have given it a 5 star review

5/1/2016

 

This was quite an enjoyable experience. The students from UMD are already talking about booking an event here with their friends!

5/2/2016

 

The clues were well placed and very clever. We had a great time and we're able to escape. The room should be touched up with new paint, as it was beginning to look pretty worn. Finally, the sticky notes on most of the surfaces looked kind of tacky. Please consider finding another way to give instructions instead of these handwritten notes.

5/14/2016

 

maybe add more minutes for smaller groups; we had 45 but I would have liked to have 60: that's no big deal but just a suggestion. Oh, also, maybe a bigger sign at the front of your property, if that's allowed by any housing authority; our cab driver had difficulty finding the address

5/24/2016

 

My team loved it, they all want to come back and try to bigger room.

6/9/2016

 

Milind and his staff have been absolutely amazing! I look forward to working with him again soon.

7/1/2016

 

Not particularly fond of the 'political' theme for this specific room.

11/11/2016

 

I definitely booked an hour room but when I got there it was only 45 minutes.

7/2/2016

 

Loved the gallery heist! Myself and two other friends did it alone and although it was a bit challenging at first we got through it in 47 minutes. I think it's great, will definitely be coming back.

7/6/2016

 

On the clear sheets with the shapes on them, you have the orange square and triangle in the wrong places. We figured it out because it had to spell "****" but someone could get tripped up. You should fix that. -- s**@gmail.com

7/24/2016

 

The props were a bit ragged and tacky (messy red print all over the white notebook of pictures reminding participants not to write on the pictures). Notices that are not clues could be uniform, possibly printed on yellow paper with the title "Notice". The greeter was friendly but didn't do much to get us in the zone.

8/3/2016

 

We love you all, thanks for making it a great day.

9/10/2016

 

Wonderful staff and a really fun room. Thanks for a great time!

9/10/2016

 

Great Escape room we came 2 families total of 10 and had so much fun

1/12/2017

 

We had a lot of fun. The museum heist should be at least 60 min though instead of 45min. My 16 and 15 year olds were great at figuring out a lot of the clues too and seemed to enjoy it as well. We would certainly do this again.

1/3/2017

 

I took my son there for his 23rd birthday and did the Gallery Heist and we had a blast! The gentleman that was working on 9 March 2016 was very professional and friendly. We have been recommending it to people already.

3/23/2016

 

I had a group of 12 on a Saturday night! We enjoyed ourselves! I thought we could "escape" since we were an educated group of teachers, assistant principals, managers in the federal government, engineers, public relations experts and nurses. But, boy was I wrong. The puzzles were challenging and really made us think! Because it was my birthday and I like to win, :) I would suggest having levels for the games. (Beginning, intermediate and advanced) Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and had a great experience! My friends loved enjoying an activity that was unique! 

9/16/2016

 

Fantastic! Perfect combination of challenge and fun. Would do it again!

9/18/2016

 

Thanks so much for being so personable! We had a great time (both times)!

10/21/2016

 

We were 5 kids and 2 moms and the kids had a blast here! The museums and monuments are gorgeous and majestic but for 9-14 year olds, they prefer something hands-on and this was a huge hit. I highly recommend it for families or just anyone who wants an interactive adventure as opposed to simply sight seeing. 7 thumbs up!

6/22/2016

 

Really enjoyed our challenge, very well thought out. Great fun!! Would be very appropriate for family or children 10 or older. Friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

6/28/2016

 

The artist room was awesome... I can't wait to visit again and attempt to escape the other room

3/17/2016

 

Facebook reviews:

Our group of 6 solved the Night at the Museum and had such a fun time doing it. We left and talked about the puzzles for an hour afterward. We really appreciated how much thought was put into each of the puzzles and how it all came together!

 

I have been wanting to try something new and fun. Paintballing and camping and maybe boat trips was the thing to do lol

Totally a great idea to try escape artist. The staff were great, the mystery was absolutely challenging but with a decent amount of clues that helped us. I would love to see a twist in a horror themed mystery. Similar to jigsaw (saw) movies.

 

We loved it. We do escape rooms all over the country. This one had a good storyline, rewarding puzzles and ending, and a great location. Thank you!

 

Gallery Heist was a great experience! Challenging but still good for my 12 and 14 year olds! Super fun!

 

Thank you so much for making my engagement possible. I am beyond amazed at how you were able to customize the experience just for us. That truly helped it become a day we shall never forget. It was an honor working with you. The communication and planning efforts was superb. It allowed me to focus on other pieces of the engagement. We will be returning here as now we have an unforgettable memory tied to an unforgettable place. I will keep highly recommending Escape Artist DC to everyone I know. Thank you for everything you have done for us.

 

Escape Artist was soooooooo fun! It's a real-time, immersive type of game, that's exciting and fun for adults. Be aware, this business location is in an apartment. My girlfriends and I were a little concerned at first, due to this, but this is in fact a legitimate business, and worth more than the money you pay for it!

 

We had an excellent time! The experience was unique and really cool.

 

After having a ball in the Gallery Heist room with my fiancé, I went back the same week with my grandmother and babysitter!

Not only are the prices more fair than other escape rooms in the city, the staff is helpful/personable and the scenarios are unique!

 

The person who attended us was awesome! It was my boyfriend and I & we didn't book a time, we didn't know it was a requirement. The staff still allowed us in although they were not open yet :D Great idea for a date. I defiantly want to come again for the next chapter! P.S Could you please post Team Archer pictures? Greatly appreciated!

 

My family of 4 completed the Art Heist with just a few minutes to spare. Great for our boys - age 8 and 11.

 

AWESOME place and lovely decor! Thanks Milind for allowing us to Think Outside The Box! We had a great time! We will be returning to check out the other room.

 

Lots of fun for our family of mystery solvers!
Staff is friendly and we all enjoyed ourselves. Making the leaderboard was the icing on the cake!

 

A very fun game night experience. You have to have your thinking hat on for that day!

 

It was a lot of fun and made us think. Very cool way to spend time with friends.

 

Such a great time!! Perfect way to spend my birthday! Thanks for having us! #girlsvsguys #girlswon #wewillbeback

 

So much fun. Creative and inventive. Loved it. Would go back again 100%.

 

Is a great place I went twice during my stay in DC

 

I loved it so much! Our hostess was extremely nice and helpful!

 

Had a great and challenging time here! Will definitely return!

 

So much fun! Go!